October 22, 2014, 09:32:57 PM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Total time logged in: 0 minutes.

Home   Help Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Where is the best place to crab in Navarre Florida??  (Read 2484 times)
JMKDMK

Ignore
« on: June 01, 2009, 11:53:54 AM »

I am fairly new to crabbing down here but not sure what areas are the best for gaining good results..Put a trap out on Saturday afternoon in the intercoastal waterway at Navarre beach and had 3 good sized crabs after an hour so we left the trap there overnight.  Came back the next day and the same 3 were still in there with no newcomers??  how can that be.  any help would be appreciated.  Thx
Crabcruncher

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2009, 08:20:06 PM »

The three crabs you left in the trap communicated a distress call, warning off their brothers. You should have removed them after they found out the trap was not a two story condo with free food.
Always remove the crabs after checking trap, and rebait with fresh fish.
Find the mud and the crabs will find your trap.

Cc

Say brother....can you spare a crab...
125blackfire

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2009, 03:29:06 PM »

The three crabs you left in the trap communicated a distress call, warning off their brothers. You should have removed them after they found out the trap was not a two story condo with free food.
Always remove the crabs after checking trap, and rebait with fresh fish.
Find the mud and the crabs will find your trap.

Cc

I never heard that crabs will communicate a distress call, all they know is that they are eating. Also bay grasses are the blue crabs habitat. You will have more luck in bay grasses then mud.

Lead Petty Officer, of the number one United States Naval Sea Cadet Corps Division In the country Annapolis Division.

Petty Officer 2nd Class Temple
Crabcruncher

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2009, 06:47:04 PM »