September 18, 2018, 01:28:28 PM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Total time logged in: 0 minutes.

Home   Help Login Register  

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Way of Life Fades as Crabbing Prices Remain Low  (Read 5256 times)
Sndpiper
Lifetime Member

Ignore
« on: September 27, 2006, 12:57:06 PM »

Way of Life Fades as Crabbing Prices Remain Low
Sep 27th - 7:06am

By LAREN HUGHES
The (Salisbury) Daily Times
CRISFIELD, Md. (AP) - All of the men in Guy Marshall's family were captains, but he has no desire to carry on the tradition. As first mate on the Beth Anne, a crabbing boat that docks in Crisfield, he watches boat owners struggle to stay afloat.
"I could go work for myself, but then I'd have to deal with all the bills," he said. "I work as a mate and I don't have to worry about nothing. I just make my salary and go home." But while Marshall counts his money, others are calculating their losses.
Jay Carmen of Crisfield crabs three to five times a week and sometimes it doesn't pay to leave shore because crabbers are still being offered less than fair prices at the docks, he said.
"A lot of watermen are looking for jobs on land and selling their equipment," he said. For years, he and his peers have been hoping the market would improve, but it hasn't, he said.
"We're not making any money," Carmen said. "These are 20-year-old prices (commercial buyers are) giving us."
Binky Dize, a buyer for S.T. Horner and Sons Inc. of Crisfield, sympathizes with the watermen, claiming the business has been steadily going downhill.
"The old days used to be you could make a living off the water, but not anymore," he said. "Every day we hear that the prices should be higher. When I was a waterman I felt the same way."
But what irritates watermen more than minimal profit is that the middlemen who purchase their crabs for "next to nothing," are selling them for much more.