November 30, 2021, 10:42:45 PM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Total time logged in: 0 minutes.

Home   Help Login Register  

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tagged Crabs in NC  (Read 11781 times)
ZackDarnell

Ignore
« on: September 25, 2007, 03:01:13 PM »

Hi everyone,

I'm a graduate student at the Duke Marine Lab in Beaufort and am currently conducting a tagging study to monitor movements of female blue crabs. I've been tagging crabs in the North River, South River, and Adams Creek. As of this posting, I've tagged around 2000. I plan to tag through the end of October, then pick up again in the spring. I'm attaching a flyer showing pictures of the tags used. I'm mainly using the orange tags on the right- the tags on the left were only used briefly in the area around the lab here.

If any of you happen to catch one of my tagged crabs, please help me out by reporting the info. You can either call the number listed on the tag and flyer (which rings to my office), email me ([email protected]), or send me a message on here. I'm paying a $5 reward for each crab I get info on.

I really appreciate the help and I'm happy to answer any questions about the project.
-Zack

genecrabman

OBX CRABS @ HALF-FAST SEAFOOD 252 202 6469

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2007, 04:17:31 PM »

How much did you get from Sea Grant?
genecrabman

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2007, 04:21:12 PM »

Here on the Outer Banks,most crabs that got tagged and released,were caught within a week. Lynn Henry did a lot of studies in our area, he might help with some ideas....LOL on you effort......
69Camaro

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2007, 04:29:38 PM »

Some lucky waterman might be $10,000 richer if he catches them all in his pots. Shocked Shocked Smiley
genecrabman

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2007, 04:33:14 PM »

If I can only get some GPS numbers, I'm there Grin

ZackDarnell

Ignore