May 24, 2018, 06:20:12 AM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Total time logged in: 0 minutes.

Home   Help Login Register  

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Orange beach / perdido Key crabs  (Read 125 times)
Meters35

Ignore
« on: May 20, 2018, 07:48:39 PM »

Hello ,
Newbie here from Nola . We are heading for vacation in Orange beach , perdido Key next weekend for Memorial Day week . Every year we bring a trap , try to find some waters ways and drop trap . We have been very unsuccessful . We take our kids for a day of fun . Question:

1. Were is best sport to blue crab in perdido Key / Orange beach ?
2. We plan to get a license , can we buy at some store in town?
3. Also plan to not use a trap but fish with a crab line. Are there places in town that sell these lines or is it as simple as getting a line / tying bait etc ?
4. What is best bait ?
5. Best time to fish?

Thanks in advanced !
Josh
Wallco99
Lifetime Member

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2018, 08:02:58 PM »

Just tie a sinker on the end of a few strings. A couple inches above the sinker, make a loop, and slide a chicken neck through. Pull the loop tight and drop  the lines in the water. Tie the ends of the ropes to a pier or a stick. Pull up very slowly. You should be able to "feel" when a crab is on there. The only thing about this type of crabbing is, you will need a net to dip the crabs below the surface. If you pull them out of the water they will most likely drop off. You should be able to pick up a package of chicken necks pretty cheap at one of the local markets or butchers in that area. Good luck.

Video link below.

https://search.aol.com/aol/video;_ylt=AwrE1xfHDAJbMfkALgZpCWVH;_ylu=X3oDMTE0dnAyOGZlBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDQjU4MzNfMQRzZWMDcGl2cw--?q=handlining+crabs&s_it=searchtabs&v_t=loki-keyword#action=view&id=6&vid=4a763ca0214410d9867fb86a179899ee
indoe
Lifetime Member

me and the wife

Ignore