May 22, 2018, 09:31:51 AM
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
 
 
 
Total time logged in: 0 minutes.
 
   Home   Help Login Register  

     
 

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Maine Trailer Tags on Delaware Resident Boats  (Read 14021 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Crabbin Fever
Lifetime Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1445
Location: Northern DE





Ignore
« Reply #20 on: August 28, 2013, 04:39:43 PM »

Ed,I think you're wrong,I believe you can register in De if you have a second home there,I had heard also 1 vehicle,but it has to be primarily used there.Living in Pa as I did most of my life a lot of people used to use De addresses because the Ins was half.Technically that voids the ins due to fraud and I know that was stopped many yrs ago by police looking for the tags,but I do believe the second home thing is legit
Frank,technically you can register if a)you have a 2nd home in Delaware b)you have two forms of proof of residency in Delaware and c) they vehicle CAN NOT leave the state WHATSOEVER.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2013, 04:56:06 PM by Crabbin Fever » Logged

One in the basket is better than two in the water!
rapp414
Guest

« Reply #21 on: August 28, 2013, 05:01:08 PM »

Frank,technically you can register if a)you have a 2nd home in Delaware b)you have two forms of proof of residency in Delaware and c) they vehicle CAN NOT leave the state WHATSOEVER.
That I believe,it makes sense,the second car can be used in De
Logged
cibabob
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10
Location: Delaware




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2014, 09:26:08 AM »

I am way late to the conversation but the issue is money. De charges $40 per year to register my trailer that holds a 16 foot crabbing boat. Maine charges $99 for 5 years including processing the paper work and shipping me the tag. It's not a matter of safety for Delaware because I am not required to have my trailer inspected ever. Unless it's transfer to or from a different state. I have driven in front of dozens of state and county police and had none say a thing. I have spoken to 2 county officers who have said as long as the lights are operational, the trailer looks safe and the cargo is secure and safe for transport there is not much concern from them. So drive on law breakers.  Put your money into the safety of your trailer and boat.
Logged
Jocko
Lifetime Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 747
Location: Baltimore


Gotta love a Basket full of Blues




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: April 11, 2014, 06:25:56 PM »

Put your money into the safety of your trailer and boat.

 2thumbsup 2thumbsup
Logged

"A day on the water is my medicine for life, it is where my soul feels free" MJB
bellringer
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 856
Location: middletown,de


Great fun




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2014, 07:03:58 AM »

Just checked my De registration and it's 20 bucks a year. The GVW is for 2,200 and I haul a 17.5 cc sea chaser. I know if you go to DMV you can reduce the GVW on your trailer and then pay only 20 bucks and still be legal. You will have to get it inspected then and only one time.
Logged

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

stuff
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 546
Location: felton delaware


i dont need it but i got to have it




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: May 15, 2014, 10:03:30 PM »

Watched the felton de cops pull over a maine horse trailer yesterday
I know that they raised the fine to like 600$ if you dont change over your vehicles 60 days after you move here
Logged
BMeth
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Location: Smyrna,Delaware




Ignore
« Reply #26 on: May 18, 2014, 10:05:51 AM »

Ok so heres the deal with the tags. In reality its only worth the hassle tagging in Maine if its a trailor thats over 10,000 lbs. in De. That would cost $130.00 a year and in Maine its $40 a year. Smaller trailors should just get registered in the state. I only know this cause my 8 by 20' trailor is tagged up there and i just renewed it for five years and got thenes tag 2 days ago just to go to Eastern Marine and see a nice new sign on the wall stating that its not legal in De. Kinda irritated about it. I never knew that u couldnt.
Logged
BMeth
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Location: Smyrna,Delaware




Ignore
« Reply #27 on: May 18, 2014, 10:07:52 AM »

Yea then it goes up to $800.00 the next time u get stopped for it. And i personally dont care for those felton cops or Harrington for that matter. They have gotten me a few times too.
Logged
soggybottomboyz
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1404
Location: 47 months from the gold watch


Obama SUCKS




Ignore
« Reply #28 on: May 21, 2014, 02:38:20 PM »

Felton cops pulled me over and made me blow a sobriety test on night after the DE State fair.........They were hesitant to tell me what the numbers were.  Blew a .00, told them I hadn't been drinking that evening!!
Logged

"I am the reason there is a daily limit and I do not use orange plastic baskets ALL the time".
stuff
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 546
Location: felton delaware


i dont need it but i got to have it




Ignore
« Reply #29 on: May 21, 2014, 06:09:30 PM »

They should be driving bentleys with all the money they get  i live there so i am wise to where they hide
  like to watch the tourist pass me and get bagged
Camden sucks too
Delaware loves them speed traps

 
Logged

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

warrantbrent
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Location: Mohnton, PA




Ignore
« Reply #30 on: August 04, 2015, 11:09:27 AM »

As a PA resident, trailers without titles are all over the place and PA is very strict on titles. Even trying to do a "home made" is tough. Maine however, will register just about anything you have as long as they get their money. And there in lies the issue. MANY Maine trailer pulling PA/DE/MD registered boats.
Logged
dfran
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4876
Location: Dallas, Pa.


Labs Rule !!!!!! Crabs ain't bad either !!!




Ignore
« Reply #31 on: September 06, 2015, 11:30:00 AM »

Pa. is $6 for most boat trailers and construction trailers with a weight capacity of 3,000 lbs.
Logged

A D V E R T I S E M E N T


Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

 
 
Home
 
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder


Google visited last this page May 16, 2018, 03:23:11 PM
wordpress