August 18, 2018, 08:14:35 AM
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
 
 
 
Total time logged in: 0 minutes.
 
   Home   Help Login Register  

     
 

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Algae in my tank?  (Read 4418 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Jim Bright
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 160
Location: Wicomico County, MD




Ignore
« on: April 26, 2016, 08:06:19 PM »

I've had my tank running continuously for a while now, probably 6 weeks, and there are a couple dozen minnows in there. Now algae is spreading all over the bottom and sides of the tank.Can anyone tell me what I should do about this algae? Should I just leave it, or try to clean it off?
Logged
capt. ron
Lifetime Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5974
Location: Kenner La. 70062





Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2016, 09:26:11 PM »

Leave it alone.  Don't do anything.  Algae is a good sign.  Once you put shedders in your tank they will dislodge it from the bottom.

Ronnie
Logged

laissez les bon temps rouler
let the good times roll
Jim Bright
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 160
Location: Wicomico County, MD




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2016, 10:12:35 AM »

Thanks Ronnie. Hope to get some peelers in there soon. My closed system is new to me so this summer will probably be a lot of trial and error. Learning new things all the time. The salinity where I'll get peelers is 19ppt and my tank is at 10 so I'll be adding some more instant ocean to get it closer to 19. I've read if it's within 5 PPT the Crab should do OK.
Logged
rdbeard
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2793
Location: stoney creek md.




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2016, 02:54:55 PM »

 Jim, i haul water from where i crab by taking 55 gal. drums to the ramp where i launch and then back to the house  to keep the salinity about the same and i have to change the water or at least a part of it 1 or 2 times a season.
Logged
Jim Bright
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 160
Location: Wicomico County, MD




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2016, 08:38:31 PM »

I could do that but I thought I remembered reading that using water from the creek in a closed system can be risky on some levels. I am kind of hesitant to do that. In your experience has that created any problems?
Logged

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

rdbeard
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2793
Location: stoney creek md.




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2016, 08:33:20 AM »

 Jim, i'v heard that if the creek water is not moving good or has red tide ect. it could be a problem but my creek is big and flows well although i have seen red tides in the past. I haul 150 to180 gallons and have never had a problem getting the tank to shed crabs on a regular basis. looks like it could be a good year to shed if the dredge survey pans out.
Logged
profire31
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Location: Mattox Creek, VA




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2016, 06:32:31 PM »

I haul water from the creek to my system too. 500 gallons
Logged
Hawkeye
Lifetime Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1688
Location: Metuchen





Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2016, 12:52:39 PM »

i don't have a tank for crabs but do run saltwater tanks for fish.  Algae can be a sign of either too much light in the tank or too much unconsumed food/waste in the tank.  With an open system it naturally clears out, but in a closed system you could consider either changing the water or adding a device like a protein skimmer which will eliminate organic waste (stuff algae thrive on).  Skimmers are very expensive though so hauling water would probably make more sense in the long run.
Logged
Jim Bright
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 160
Location: Wicomico County, MD




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2016, 02:30:03 PM »

Okay so thanks for all the replies. It sounds like I need to reconsider and come up with some kind of plan to add new creek water every so often. Up till now I just used the garden hose to top off the tank and that has kept the water level consistent.

too much light in the tank.   I don't think this is the problem--the tank is in the shade.


too much unconsumed food/waste in the tank.    Can you help me understand what you mean here? The only thing in the tank right now is a group of minnows, and I'm not feeding them at all.

Logged
Mikie
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2134
Location: Kent Island, Md.




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2016, 02:39:02 PM »

What are the minnows eating to stay alive? Maybe the minnows released waste (most animals do) which caused the algae to grow, which they are in turn eating to stay alive. Life's a vicious circle!  Grin Just a thought.
Logged

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Jim Bright
Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 160
Location: Wicomico County, MD




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2016, 09:17:16 PM »

My wife has been telling me to feed the minnows but I haven't and they've been in there for a long time. I was hoping to get some peeler in there in the next week or so, so once that gets rolling I'll get rid of those minnows.
Logged
Mikie
Registered User

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2134
Location: Kent Island, Md.




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2016, 11:22:39 PM »

Why bother getting rid of the minnows? Try throwing a couple of the little Milk Bone Dog Biscuits in the tank for the minnows. Now, if the minnows are really big, they might actually try to eat any soft crabs when they are sloughing.
Logged

A D V E R T I S E M E N T


Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

 
 
Home
 
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder


Google visited last this page August 07, 2018, 03:47:16 AM