July 15, 2019, 04:37:50 PM
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
 
 
 
Total time logged in: 0 minutes.
 
   Home   Help Login Register  

     
 

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Boat size and Crabbing spot Help  (Read 2125 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
needtafish
Registered User

Offline Offline

Posts: 11




Ignore
« on: May 09, 2006, 02:04:08 PM »

Greetings guys,

I was reading posts on dividing creek and was wondering if you guys think I could bring my 9.5' basstender in the creek to crab with?  It is all I have and really want to try crabbing this summer.  If I couldn't bring it there is there any place I could put it in and be ok?  Thanks alot
Logged
Felinis
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 543
Location: Baltimore


Live Long and Prosper




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2006, 03:42:39 PM »

Sorry, I don't know about dividing creek.

There are many places on the Bay where all you really need to do is to paddle a little ways away from the pier into deeper (8'-12') water to catch crabs.  If you don't have a motor, you could do that.

I crabbed all last season from an inflatable Zodiac boat with a 7.5 hp motor.  I was limited to about 15 traps though.

If I had a small bass boat, I would want to stay in calm water and away from big boat wakes.
If you can launch your boat without a ramp, you might want to try the Bennett Point landing on the Wye later in the year.

Again, if you can carry the boat, you could put in by the public pier in Annapolis and crab the Severn.
I watched a guy crab from a canoe there last year.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2006, 03:44:21 PM by Felinis » Logged
gotcrabs
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 226
Location: Boyertown, PA


lcrab time




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2006, 03:50:30 PM »

Needtafish

Dividing Creek would be perfect for that size boat.   You'll need a motor but not sure where you'd put in.  There are a couple boat rental places and if you read some of the dividing creek topics I think there are a couple of threads regarding ramps.

good luck

gonna try June 2nd

Logged
creeker
Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Location: Cape May

we be crabben




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2006, 04:46:23 PM »

What ever you do, make sure you bring 2 anchors it's something a lot of people don't  think about , but wish they did. I've crabbed the Maurice river in that area and have always done well, theres a dirt ramp a mile and a half west of 47 on rt. 670 next to the Maurice river bridge, it's perfect for small boats, I wouldn't use it for any thing big unless I had a 4 wheel drive tv.
   
        Mug up and good luck.

     JB
Logged

Ya don't learn nothen from getten bit by a crab twice.
tattoo
Lifetime Member
*
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 76976
Location: Glassboro NJ.


MY BOAT CRAB TRAP


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2006, 11:15:16 PM »

I crabb dividing creek alot i alyays use my 12 ft. boat.
Logged

A CRAB A DAY KEEPS THE DOCTOR AWAY.   

Click Here To Mount Your Crab

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

needtafish
Registered User

Offline Offline

Posts: 11




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2006, 02:58:24 PM »

thanks for the replies guys.  I will definently give it a try in the coming weeks and post my adventure/results.
Logged
Crab Shack
Lifetime Member
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13387
Location: Now: Tampa, FL Then: NJ


BITE ME




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2006, 03:59:06 PM »

What ever you do, make sure you bring 



 ME....    Cool
« Last Edit: May 16, 2006, 04:02:37 PM by CrabShack » Logged

NO CRABS WERE HARMED IN THE PRODUCTION OF THIS POST
WHAT WE'VE GOT HERE IS...FAILURE TO COMMUNICATE
YOU CAN'T FIX STUPID
needtafish
Registered User

Offline Offline

Posts: 11




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2006, 06:18:44 PM »

Hey guys, one more quick question.  I have been doing some research and was wondering if I need any licenses or registrations.  I am in PA and my boat is registered here (obviously).  I don't think I need to register it if I don't stay longer than 90 days but is there a license I need to get or any other info I need before I shove off??  Thanks in advance.

Logged

A D V E R T I S E M E N T


Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

 
 
Home
 
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder


Google visited last this page June 16, 2019, 11:06:02 AM