November 18, 2018, 08:09:03 AM

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Total time logged in: 0 minutes.

Home   Help Login Register  

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question from newbie re: Crabbing from Bridge  (Read 1138 times)
Schinz1068

Ignore
« on: June 29, 2017, 08:18:30 AM »

Hello all...I am fairly new to crabbing and have a question.  I was crabbing from a bridge in NJ the other day and a guy joined me on my bridge about halfway through.  I was using 3 ring traps and one box trap with chicken thighs.  He was using all box traps, however, he was winding up and throwing them as far out as he could.  I was simply dropping them straight down.  Depth would have been about the same as we were both about halfway across the bridge.  I asked him why he was throwing them so far out and he said because all the crabs don't necessarily like to be so close to the bridge.  This just didn't sound right to me so I thought I would ask on here, where there are so many experienced crabbers!!!  Thanks!1
rdbeard

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2017, 09:08:39 AM »

Makes no sence but the proof would be how did you catch as compared to him?
Schinz1068

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2017, 09:10:55 AM »

No difference whatsoever.  Things had really slowed down by the time he got there and he and I both were bringing in next to nothing every pull at that point....but he kept throwing them as far as he could!!
arti0972
Lifetime Member

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2017, 09:12:20 AM »